Eat, for one day you shall be eaten.

Closet WoW

Posted in Oddity, Wicked by youwillbeeaten on February 26, 2009

I haven’t been keeping this a secret per se, I just haven’t totally come out of the closet as a giant nerd who’s waaaaaaaaay too into video games. But I think the time is nigh. 

Here goes:

My name is Lauren and I love role-playing video games.

ld-magic

Update (March 4, 09): The Guardian just did a piece on WoW gold farming. See, this blog is timely and relevant.

Usually I prefer single-player role playing games like Oblivion and Fallout . I like spending time creating my characters (ladies only, please.), I like picking their facial features, hair, class, race, etc., I like coming up with names to suit their characters, and I like spending hours wandering through digital worlds. I am currently playing an evil lone-wolf type character on Fallout 3 named “Chuck Bass”–she blasts through quests with little regard for the characters and environments she encounters–she just blows shit up and acts like a total D-bag. It’s awesome. 

However, things do get more nerdy than that.

I also like to play Dungeons and Dragons-based video games, like Neverwinter Nights. These kinds of games are turn-based and can sometimes require a little more strategy than just emptying your giant gun into some unlucky sap.

Worse still, I also like to play MMORPGs like World of Warcraft.

Yes, I am one of the over 11.5 million who wander around Azeroth trying to get twenty loads of quality soil samples from Un’Goro; collect 1 Desecrated Bindings, 6 Wartorn Cloth Scraps, 1 Arcane Crystal and 1 Nexus Crystas for Archmage Angela Dosantos; and rescue Captain Boneshatter inside Hellfire Citadel before he is executed. 

World of Warcraft (or WoW) can be a very fun game, it’s got a large world to explore and plentiful quests and characters to interact with. But, it is, by no means, my favourite. There are  lots of things about WoW that I dislike.

Generally, I prefer solo play–I don’t like making in-game friends to go on instances with. However, to get ahead in WoW you need to join a guild and do this kind of thing. Also, soooo many of the quests you need to complete are pretty repetitive (eg: collect 20 soil samples, wtf??) and I get sick of doing them. Combine that with low drop rates and you’re at the same boring quest for a long, long time. Boooooo! Also, it expensive to play. After buying the initial software, you have to spend hours installing updates before you can actually get going–then, after spending all that time and money , you have to pay a monthly fee for the privilege of accessing your character and the game world. BOOOOOO! This is a major problem for me.

But World of Warcraft does have an incredible appeal to me outside of simple game play. Due to its immense world-wide popularity, a vibrant and distinct culture and economy has emerged from this game.

You can, for example, use your real-world money to buy gold and gear for your characters–or even whole game  accounts off of people. However, the use of real-world currency to buy in-game virtual assets has led to the emergence of nefarious practices such as  gold farming and account theft. Nasty business. (But perhaps occupations to explore  while I’m at home, on the computer and under-employed….)

You can also find a plethora of artworks and material culture inspired by WoW, including, but not limited to: costumes, video homages, and, of course, pr0n (an elegant combination of costume and video).

While there is a large part of me that wants to find out why it is that Rogues do it from behind, and wants to know how Bonan’s rage will tame a sexual demon, the one thing I desperately want right now is one of these:

product_riseofthelichking

 

And, maybe, some one to tell me how I can get this on my iPod:

 

***up next–learning to play Magic Cards. The Magic Card thing passed me by in elementary school. Too bad. I hear it’s fun. I think I’ll head down to my local nerd-shop and pick up a starter kit. Any one out there wanna play?

images3

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. S. said, on February 26, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I was kinda speechless when I saw this! Wow, you ARE a nerd…the coolest nerd ever but, a nerd none-the-less!

    Still stunned…

  2. fraser said, on February 27, 2009 at 1:38 am

    this made me want to go play.
    totally dinged, holler!

  3. Flavaflavvvvvvv! said, on March 1, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Gosh! Soil Samples? Really? I thought *I* was a nerd talking about taking soil samples from the garden to maximize a tomato crop… but there is no soil in your world, none, and you’re collecting it. You’ve reminded me to be proud of my geekery… Thank you.

  4. jennifer said, on March 6, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    am i the only one that wasn’t all that surprised by this post? left for hours to do grad school work, you start to get into some weird-ass shit. i became obssessed with false eyelashes during my last year at u of t; i have now taken up running. what the fucks all-round, me thinks.

    ld, have you seen the south park episode about WoW? INCROYABLE!


Leave a Reply

